Heat wave

After a cool start to June, wearing jackets and pants, summer seems to have officially arrived.  This week has been hot by any standards, 35C (feels like 100F), and I quite literally have a burning desire to be in a place with air conditioning.  Only some places here have AC and unfortunately our apartment is not one of those places.

My intensive super course started this week.  We are a class of 8 and although small, we are diverse.  3 from the U.S. 1 from Afghanistan, 1 from Italy, 1 from Turkey, 1 from Portugal, and 1 from Scotland.  My classroom is on the 3rd floor of a building and the room has windows facing the sun all day long.  On Montag, it started getting hot mid-morning and the teacher explained to us that the room does have an AC but its broken.  Dienstag was warmer than Montag, and in the early afternoon I was hot and I had trouble staying awake at some parts.  Today was the hottest.  By 10 am I had a grown up sweat mustache.

sweaty-celebrities-madonnaWe take a break mid-morning and when I walk out into the commons area, I see all these other women seemingly to have come from a much cooler place than I.  No one else’s hair has frizz or is sticking to their foreheads.  No one else is red-faced.  No one else has a sweat-stache.  No one else has sweat spots on their shirts in the arm pits or anywhere else for that matter.  I mean, a lot of these women are even wearing make up.  The mere thought of make up at that point causes new beads of sweat to roll down my temples.  I don’t get it.  How is it that I am the only female that looks like I stepped out of a sauna fully clothed?

All joking about my sweatiness aside, I really am enjoying class and the people.  It’s definitely frustrating, but I am definitely learning, and that feels good.  At the breaks I am learning about non-German things as well, like the Scottish Independence Referendum coming up for vote next year, the best cheap airlines to travel Europe;  Berlin Air, German Wings, Easy Jets, and Wizz Air. (Ha, tried not to laugh like a teenager at the last one)

In case you are wondering, I’m still not wearing heels, and now with the heat, definitely no scarves.

I am eating a lot of cheese (Hallo Camembert where have you been all my life?) and of course Bratwurst.  Bratwurst is literally everywhere and anytime you are hungry and don’t know what to eat just turn around and you’ll likely see a mobile Bratwurst stand selling a Wurst und Brot for just 2 euros.  I don’t like the sparkling water on its own yet, but I have discovered schorle.  This is when you fill a glass 3/4 full with your choice of juice and 1/4 of sparkling water…Yum.  I am even buying sparkling water at Aldi now, just so I can make my own juiceschorle at home.  Fresh white asparagus is everywhere right now.  Asparagus season ends June 24th, so most restaurants have it on the menu on several dishes, and the farmers have their huts set up near every train and bus stop.

The shop keepers are warming up to me as they see me coming back over and over again. My German ordering skills have improved remarkably which may also contribute to their ‘warming up’.  I can flip out a phrase quickly and smoothly now, instead of stammering over every consonant.  I don’t feel like such an idiot in a restaurant now, which is helping with my appetite!  Yes the teachers really are right.  Repetition and practice really does make you better.  🙂

6 responses to “Heat wave

  1. Hi! How wonderful to hear from you! I can sympathize with you on the heat – I would be happiest if it never got above 85! You are so brave! I will keep you in my prayers!

  2. I love reading your updates. They always put a smile on my face. I too am proud of you. I’m not sure I could brave a new country as you have. Again, I love reading your updates. My best to you!

  3. Aww, I do love reading your blogs LFQ….and it’s even better when I put your voice to them. I’m sure you cooked up a mean sweat stache, but I’m sure you did it with grace. Mmm, asparagus! Please tell me you are snatching up this precious commodity while it lasts! D-lish-uus! I’m so glad class is going well, and you are immersing yourself in it! Keep it up and you’ll be ordering bratwursts and hefeweizen with ease! Love ya…and love to Mo and Tank.

  4. Pingback: a fresh start to a new year | pisceschronicles·

Leave a Reply

