A few more Little Things

Well we’ve been living here in Germany going on 10 months now.  And wow, time flies and yet it seems like forever ago that I was driving my own car around a spacious spread out town.  🙂  A while back I wrote about some little things that are different about life in Germany, and over the last months I started a mental tab to add to that list.  Here’s what I’ve come up with:

1.  Time… is not told in 2 sets of 12 hours; is it 3am or 3pm?  Here it’s 3 o’clock or 15 o’clock.  This threw me off for a LONG time people, until Mauricio shared the secret:  Just subtract 12.  I’m not good at math but it seems that I can manage subtraction under 24.

2.  Paper…computer paper/copier paper/resume paper, it’s all longer.  I figured this out by trying to stick copies from German class in my fancy plastic sleeves I brought with me from the US.  They stick out of the top.  Also they don’t 3 hole punch here, it’s a 2 hole punch and not along the top, it’s along the side.  No such thing as 3 ring binders.  Maybe I can sell my now useless 3-hole punch on ebay?

3.  Measurements…anything that we measure in the US in inches/feet/miles/acres/fahrenheit/yards they measure here in cm/meters/kilometers/hectares/celsius.  And really, this mathematically makes so much more sense (100cm = 1 meter, 1000meters = 1kilometer) yet is challenging for me because I find myself trying to do the conversion in my head-which just makes me cross eyed.  Except what exactly is a hectar? maybe it’s exactly an acre seeing as how it has a lot of the same letters…hmm

4.  TV Commercials….are longer but less frequent.  Seems like in the US commercials were every 5 minutes, here it’s more like every 20/25 minutes but when they are on, they are on.  This is not necessarily a bad thing, it’s just long enough that it proves to be useful time to unload/reload the dishwasher, pick your nose, read a magazine etc.

5.  the Post office is yellow and still in business…yep you can’t cancel a contract with any company, landlord, person without sending per post a written request.  Post boxes on the street are bright yellow, and the uniforms the employees wear are the standard yellow and black.

Ok, well in my head the list seemed longer, but seeing as how it’s been a while since I wrote anything at all…a short lil something can be a glass half full situation eh? 🙂

3 responses to “A few more Little Things

  1. Always enjoy reading your posts. Hope all is well with you and Mauricio. Still trying to survive this punishing winter. All my best, David

  2. It seems to me that you are adjusting to life in Germany very well. Your posts are such fun to read so keep them coming!

  3. Pingback: The Kansas things I’d been missing | pisceschronicles·

Leave a Reply

